Watch is losing time

Discussion of roleplaying & the realm
Dstroh1220
Newborn Fawn
Newborn Fawn

I am extremely new to the watch game, I just bought my first piece second hand from another user on Reddit. Its a Patek Nautilus that I'm sure cost less then $100 when it was new. It worked great for a week or two but now seems to be losing time. To the tune of a minute an hour. Its not a major deal and I will continue to wear the watch regardless but I was curious if there was an easy way to fix the issue. If not I will continue to wear it and use my phone to tell accurate time. Thanks in advance for the help!
DROOSEPH
Paladin
Paladin

Have you tried winding it up fully? Like 40-50 times?
Qomplete
Knight
Knight

Isn't winding a watch that much bad for the mechanism
Dstroh1220
Newborn Fawn
Newborn Fawn

I did wind it manually, but not that many times. Maybe 20-25. Ill give it a try today and see what happens. Thanks.
DROOSEPH
Paladin
Paladin

if winding it does not work you can always get it serviced but depending on what movement it is, it might be more cost effective to just swap in a new movement if you can do that yourself. I f you end up taking it to a watchsmith its likely going to be cheaper to replace the whole damn thing unfortunately.
DROOSEPH
Paladin
Paladin

Qomplete wrote: Tue Apr 05, 2022 5:21 am Isn't winding a watch that much bad for the mechanism
It can be since the mainspring uses friction to hold to the barrel like a clutch. most people arren't doing full turns when winding it up so that many turns is more like 35 full rotations, a watch winder would do way more "damage" or premature wear than manually winding like that.
TheViz
Site Admin

I don't think I've ever given one of my watches more than 15 full turns. That being said, for the love of God stay away from watch winders with CT watches. Losing that much time, the movement would need to be regulated if you cared to pay for it. The issue would be getting someone to do it.
Dstroh1220
Newborn Fawn